I am not clever…

I honestly tried to think of some clever way to do this, but I am not clever, especially when it comes to promoting myself, (I don’t even like that phrase ‘promoting myself’ it makes me feel like I should be standing in a shiny dress on a cheesy billboard). But I am just so frickin excited about finishing a website, my first website for my book that currently has agent representation. It’s a website with stuff on it, pictures and words and even a book trailer and I did it all by myself! It took forever but even now the time seems worth it – because it wasn’t easy, it feels more mine, more aptly a part of this journey I am on with my fellow writers to be published and one day see your book in the hands of somebody else. So, all that said to say this post is nothing more than a shameless plug in the hope that you will check out my first book website;

http://www.graysaltbook.com

And I hope you will because even though it’s mine and I’m biased, I kinda love it! 

Okay, and now to get back to the business of this blog – I’ll have new pages to post for the story soon, hoping to have enough figured out to get a few pages typed up by the weekend.

Just so frickin excited about my website!!!!!! So excited! I don’t know why but having it makes me feel a little bit more legit, and with the ups and downs that come with being a writer, I’m gonna take every little bit of excitement where I can get it!

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “I am not clever…

  1. Congrats on your new website! I know how websites can be scary. I’m looking into building one for myself, but probably won’t get around to it until later this year. I’m looking forward to it, yet not.

    • Thanks! And you’re right it was scary and I was completely looking forward to it, until I started the process and found that though I am a decision maker by nature and creed, when it came to my book website I was agonizing over every little thing. But now I’m just proud that it’s finished. Best of luck when you start on yours, and share it when you’re done, I’d love to see it!

  2. Congrats on the new website! I know how you feel about the whole “self-promotion” thing. I feel so awkward being like “HEY EVERYONE GO LOOK AT ME AND THE THINGS THAT I DO”, but that shiny dress does sound kind of nice…

    • now see if promotion was only about getting to wear the shiny dress I’d be all good, it’s just the wearing the dress while standing on a ledge and pointing and screaming “Hey Look At Me!” that I find a little hard to navigate, lol but thanks for the congrats, it means a lot!

  3. Well done! It looks amazing. That book trailer is very powerful.
    Two minor things that the editor in me noticed: first, there’s inconsistent capitalization of “grandma” on the main page, and second, the font on the excerpt page changes partway down. I’m pointing these out hoping to be helpful. If it bothers you, my apologies. But you have a great site that really drew me in—no lie—so I thought it would be wrong of me not to mention them.

    • Alison thank you sooooo much for those editor notes! This is why I love being a part of a community like this! You spend so much time working on something by yourself that by the time your finished your eyes are crossing and you’re second guessing if words like ‘but’ and ‘the’ are spelled correctly! So grateful that you took the time to look at the site and point those things out, can’t thank ya enough! 🙂

  4. Congrats on the website and best of luck. I’ve enjoyed the “And Then There Was One” stuff (when I’ve had time to read it) and look forward to your new project. It’s encouraging to see someone else with a love of writing out doing their thing.

    • Thanks much! I enjoy your blog too, it’s nice to read about someone else going through the highs and lows of choosing to be a writer, especially since it can sometimes be such solitary work so it’s comforting to know that others are out there trudging along with you! 🙂

    • Thanks Michelle! And life doing it’s crazy thing has kept me from reading all of your book, but I’ve loved what I’ve read so far! Here’s hoping we’ll be taking the world by storm together 🙂

  5. This is so exciting! (Sorry, I’m super late to the congratulations party.) The website looks fantastic and well done for both finishing it and finding representation! I can’t wait to read it when it comes out. Do you have a possible date of publication, or are you on submission for publishing houses?

    Congratulations again! 😀

    • Thanks! And no worries on being late to the party, congratulations are always right on time 🙂 Of course since that post I have lost my agent, which sucks. But if it had to happen it happened in the best possible way, I got some good publisher feedback on the writing but they were also saying the story was too dark. So my agent suggested I find some New York representation with perhaps more pull in getting the book published, so I’m back on the grind of trying to find an agent – but I’m okay with it. I sort of feel like the harder I have to work to get this thing published (and it will be published! lol) then the more I’ll appreciate it when it happens.

Leave a Reply

