Read Me First

This story is not mine. It showed up as a random smoosh of papers, tucked inside a plastic box that I found on my porch once the flood waters drained. I think it is just a story. I’m putting the pieces together, trying to put the pages in some sort of order but the more I read, I think maybe it could be more. Maybe what I hold in my hands is not just a story but some hint of the truth.

It seems too much for one person to decide on their own, so I’m going to share it here; posting each piece as it comes together, re-typing what on the pages is handwritten and hoping I get it right. Then if you read it, if you find this, what we share here will just be our little secret.

But If you wrote it…if you wrote it I hope it is not your truth because if it is, your heart must still be broken. If it is we will never know to say thank you.

44 thoughts on “Read Me First

  1. wow, this whole thing could be the subject of a story on its own: how you found the text, deciphered it, shared it and maybe did or did not find the author or how it may have influenced somebody.
    anyway, I’m hooked, can’t wait to see the next pages, great job 🙂

  2. Thanks for following me! Would you be open for an interview (skype?) about how you found this, why you’re taking the time to type and post the story, and how it’s impacted you as a writer and a person?

  3. Thanks for following Paper, Mud and Me. I just read your first 3 installments and find them very interesting. I will be following Writerread and read more when I have more time.

  4. The whole idea of finding a manuscript from an unknown author after the flood waters receded sounds like a Nicholas Sparks novel. A story within a story. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

